Our Company

Farmers Mutual Insurance Company was incorporated under the laws of West Virginia on July 25, 1905, as the Farmers Mutual Fire Association of West Virginia. It commenced operations on January 26, 1906; on January 1, 1991 the company adopted its current title of Farmers Mutual Insurance Company.

On January 1, 1992, Grange Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Philippi, West Virginia, was merged into Farmers Mutual Insurance Company. Farmers Union Association and Fire Insurance Company, Bruceton Mills, West Virginia, was merged into Farmers Mutual Insurance Company on July 1, 1994.

We built a new 2 story 12,000 sq. foot office building and moved into the new building in June 1992. The new building is located in Marion County at 40 Moran Circle in White Hall, West Virginia.

The company is under the direction of John G. Conaway, chairman of the board; Mary Beth Aliveto, vice chairman; and David L. Corsini II, president and chief executive officer.

The Board of Directors consist of John G. Conaway, Mary Beth Aliveto, David L. Corsini II, Conn D. Johnson, Frederick W. Parsons II and Mary Hunt.

Farmers Mutual has identified eight core values that we believe are the foundation of the company’s core purpose and focus.

    • Strong Underwriting Rules
    • Risk Re-Underwriting and Field Re-Underwriting
    • Proper Risk Rating
    • Evaluating and Understanding Risk Exposure
    • Inspection of Risk
    • Agency Relationships
    • Agency Evaluation and Review
    • Providing Prompt and Professional Service thru underwriting, claims and technology